Go to Online Books

Financial Aid Grants

Federal Pell Grants

Federal Pell Grants are generally awarded to undergraduate students who have not yet earned a bachelor’s degree. All recipients are limited to 12 semesters (or 600%) of Pell Grant eligibility during their lifetime. This change affects all students regardless of when or where they received their first Pell Grant. For more information on how lifetime eligibility is calculated, visit the Department of Education’s Pell Lifetime Eligibility website. Students may view their percentage of Pell Grant used by logging into NSLDS.ed.gov. The “Lifetime Eligibility Used” percentage will be displayed in the “Grants” section. The US Department of Education, using a standard needs-based formula established by Congress, determines student Pell eligibility.

Eligibility is determined by the U.S. Department of Education, using a standard formula established by Congress.

The Pell Grant maximum for the 2014–2015 award year (July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015) is $5,730.

The Pell Grant maximum for 2015–2016 (July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016) will be $5,775.

The award amount will depend on:

  • Expected family contribution (EFC)
  • Cost of attendance
  • Full-time or part-time status
  • Length of enrollment in an academic year

Students may only receive one Pell Grant award in an award year and may not receive Pell Grant funds from more than one school at a time.

Do you have questions about financial aid? If you haven’t yet applied to Walden, please contact an enrollment advisor at 1-866-492-5336 in the United States. If you are a current student, please contact a financial aid advisor at IOHS or call 1-888-393-3750 .


Online Application